DATE Best IP Award 2018


The DATE Best IP Award 2018 goes to:

Jeroen van Dijk¹, Andrei Vladimirescu², Masoud Babaie¹, Edoardo Charbon¹ and Fabio Sebastiano¹

¹Delft University of Technology, NL; ²University of California, Berkeley, US

"Co-design Methodology for Scalable Quantum Processors and their Classical Electronic Interface"

DATE Proceedings


DATE 2018 Impressions


Opening Session


Read more ...

Previous Slide 1/17 Next

Monday Tutorials, IoT Student Challenge, Forum: Advancing Diversity in EDA and PhD Forum

Previous Slide 1/14 Next

More pictures ...

EDAA Achievement Award 2018 goes to Mary Jane Irwin


The Achievement Award is given to individuals who made outstanding contributions to the state of the art in electronic design, automation and testing of electronic systems in their life. In order to be eligible, candidates must have made innovative contributions which had an impact on the way electronic systems are being designed.

Dr. Mary Jane IrwinDr. Irwin has been on the faculty at Penn State since 1977 where she currently holds the title of Emeritus Evan Pugh University Professor in Computer Science and Engineering. Prior to retirement in July 2017, she also was the A. Robert Noll Chair in Engineering in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. She has devoted her entire career to promote the field of design and design automation and computer architecture. She has spent close to four decades contributing in a variety of ways to the field.

DATE 2018 Awards Ceremony


DATE Fellow Award, IEEE CEDA Service Award and IEEE CS TTTC Outstanding Contribution Award

Prof. David Atienza
For outstanding service contribution as General Chair of DATE 2017
Prof. David Atienza

IEEE Fellow Award

Prof. Tajana Simunic Rosing
University of California San Diego, US
elevated to IEEE Fellow
Prof. Tajana Simunic Rosing

Outstanding Dissertation Award - The Winners are ...


New directions in software design and optimization for embedded, cyber-physical and secure systems

Alessandro Biondi, Ph.D. (Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna, Pisa, IT; Advisor: Prof. G. Buttazzo and Prof. M. di Natale)

Thesis: "Analysis and Design Optimization of Real-Time Engine Control Software"

New directions in system-on-chip platforms co-design, novel emerging architectures and system-level management

Matthias Jung, Ph.D. (University of Kaiserslautern, DE; Advisor: Prof. B. Jacob and N. Wehn)

Thesis: "System-Level Modeling, Analysis and Optimization of DRAM Memories and Controller Architectures"

New directions in logic, physical design and CAD for analog/mixed-signal, nano-scale and emerging technologies

Rajendra Bishnoi, Ph.D. (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, DE; Advisor: Prof. M. Tahoori and Dr. G. Prenat)

Thesis: "Performance Spintronic Memories"

New directions in safety, reliability and security-aware hardware design, validation and test for systems and circuits

Tobias Schneider, Ph.D. (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, DE; Advisor: Prof. T. Guneysu and Prof. A. Moradi)

Thesis: "Hardware-Based Countermeasures Against Physical Attacks"

PhD Forum Best Poster Prize supported by EDAA, ACM Sigda and IEEE CEDA


The PhD Forum Best Poster Prizes goes to:

Oliver Keszocze, University of Bremen, DE

"Exact Design of Digital Microfluidic Biochips"

Anirudh Iyengar and Swaroop Ghosh, Pennsylvania State University, US

"Spintronic Memory towards Secure and Energy-Efficient Computing"

Tutorial Handouts


Please click a link below for download of the DATE 2018 tutorial handout material. Download is possible only for registered tutorial participants. You have received the password by e-mail or at the on-site registration desk.

You don't need a username.

If a tutorial is not listed below, the organizers have not yet provided the handout material.

There is one common handout for all tutorials that can be downloaded here.

University Booth at DATE 2018 - Final Programme


The final programme of the University Booth at DATE 2018 is available online here and for download as PDF document within the DATE booklet available here (page 122 ff).

The University Booth is organised during DATE and will be located in booth 16 of the exhibition area. All demonstrations will take place from Tuesday, March 20 to Thursday, March 22, 2018 during DATE. Universities and public research institutes have been invited to submit hardware or software demonstrators.

The University Booth programme is composed of 34 demonstrations from 14 different countries, presenting software and hardware solutions. The programme is organised in 11 sessions of 2 or 2.5 h duration and will cover the topics:

  • Electronic Design Automation Prototypes
  • Hardware Design and Test Prototypes
  • Future and Emerging Technologies Prototypes
  • Autonomous Systems Prototypes

The University Booth at DATE 2018 invites you to booth 16 to find out more about the latest trends in software and hardware from the international research community.