Winners Announcement - EDAA Outstanding Dissertations Award 2016


In recognition of the importance of university research to the advancement of design, automation and test, and to encourage young researchers to work in the field, the European Design and Automation Association (EDAA) has established an award for outstanding Ph.D. dissertations.

Four categories have been considered in 2016:

  • Topic 1 – New directions in software design and optimization for embedded, cyber-physical and secure systems.
  • Topic 2 – New directions in system-on-chip platforms co-design, novel architectures and system-level management.
  • Topic 3 – New directions in logic, physical design and CAD for analog/mixed-signal, nano-scale and emerging technologies.
  • Topic 4 – New directions in robust circuit design, reliability-aware design and system test.

An open call for nominations was organized. The awards are open to young researchers from any country. The dissertations must have been finalized in the last 2 years before the submission deadline. The nominations had to include

  • An extended statement explaining the outstanding contributions of the thesis,
  • The PhD thesis, preferably in English.
  • A CV and a list of related publications.

The nominations had to be supported by at least two reference letters of experts, and at least one from a different university.

In 2016, EDAA has received a total of 31 submissions from around the world. In each category a committee of international experts evaluated all nominations and selected the final winner. Each award consists of a 1000 € prize and a certificate.

The 2016 winners have been selected by a high level jury composed by Prof. Lorena Anghel, Prof. José L. Ayala, Prof. Luca Benini, Prof. Naehyuck Chang, Prof. Yao-Wen Chang, Prof. Catherine Dehollain, Prof. Giovanni De Micheli, Prof. Giorgio Di Natale, Prof. Andreas Herkersdorf, Prof. Farinaz Koushanfar, Prof. Jan Madsen, Prof. Subhasish Mitra, Dr. Sani Nassif, Prof. Hidetoshi Onodera, Prof. Frédéric Pétrot, Prof. Donatella Sciuto, Prof. Olivier Sentieys, Prod. Mehdi Tahoori, Prof. Norbert Wehn, and Prof. Marilyn Wolf. They will be awarded at the DATE 2017 Conference and Exhibition, to be held March 27 - 31 in Lausanne, Switzerland ( The 2016 winners in the 4 categories are:

  • Topic 1: Marco Zimmerling, Ph.D. (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich - ETHZ, Switzerland; Advisor: Prof. Lothar Thiele); Thesis: “End-to-end Predictability and Efficiency in Low-power Wireless Networks”.
  • Topic 2: Bingjun Xiao, Ph.D. (University of California, Los Angeles, USA; Advisor: Prof. Jason Cong); Thesis: “Communication Optimization for Customizable Domain-Specific Computing”.
  • Topic 3: Kai Hu, Ph.D. (Duke University, USA; Advisor: Prof. Krishnendu Chakrabarty); Thesis: “Optimization, Testing and Design-for-Testability of Flow-Based Microfluidic Biochips”.
  • Topic 4: Veit Benedikt Kleeberger, Ph.D. (Technical University of Munich, Germany; Advisor: Prof. Ulf Schlichtmann); Thesis: “Resilient Cross-Layer Design of Digital Integrated Circuits”.

In addition, SPRINGER will publish these awarded dissertations in the EDAA Outstanding Monographs series.

More information:

David Atienza Alonso, EDAA Vice-Chair

EDAAis a non-profit association. Its purpose is to operate for educational, scientific and technical purposes for the benefit of the international electronics design and design automation community. The Association, in the field of design and design automation of electronic circuits and systems, promotes a series of high quality technical international conferences and workshops across Europe and cooperates actively to maintain harmonious relationships with other national and international technical societies and groups promoting the purpose of the Association. EDAA is the main sponsor of DATE, the premier Design, Automation and Test Conference and Exhibition in Europe.