Outstanding Dissertation Award - The Winners are ...


Recognizing the importance of university research to the advancement of design, automation and test.

Open for young researchers world-wide working in these fields, this is an award for outstanding Ph.D. dissertations finished in the last 2 years before the submission deadline (Nov. 1, 2017).

  • Each award consists of a 1,000 € prize and a certificate.
  • SPRINGER publishes these awarded dissertations in the EDAA Outstanding Monographs series.

In 2017 EDAA received 51 submissions world-wide.

  • In each category a committee of international experts evaluated the nominations and selected the final winner.

The winners in the four categories are:

New directions in software design and optimization for embedded, cyber-physical and secure systems

Alessandro Biondi, Ph.D. (Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna, Pisa, IT; Advisor: Prof. G. Buttazzo and Prof. M. di Natale)

Thesis: "Analysis and Design Optimization of Real-Time Engine Control Software"

New directions in system-on-chip platforms co-design, novel emerging architectures and system-level management

Matthias Jung, Ph.D. (University of Kaiserslautern, DE; Advisor: Prof. B. Jacob and N. Wehn)

Thesis: "System-Level Modeling, Analysis and Optimization of DRAM Memories and Controller Architectures"

New directions in logic, physical design and CAD for analog/mixed-signal, nano-scale and emerging technologies

Rajendra Bishnoi, Ph.D. (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, DE; Advisor: Prof. M. Tahoori and Dr. G. Prenat)

Thesis: "Performance Spintronic Memories"

New directions in safety, reliability and security-aware hardware design, validation and test for systems and circuits

Tobias Schneider, Ph.D. (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, DE; Advisor: Prof. T. Guneysu and Prof. A. Moradi)

Thesis: "Hardware-Based Countermeasures Against Physical Attacks"

See the Press Release